

Contact: Eileen E. Denne, Eileen@arrx.org; (501) 372-5250

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

ARKANSAS PHARMACISTS ASSOCIATION HONORS INDIVIDUALS WITH 2012 AWARDS

ROGERS, AR (June 23, 2012) – The Arkansas Pharmacists Association (APA) presented six 2012 awards to deserving individuals on Saturday, June 23, during its 130th Annual Convention held at the Embassy Suites Northwest in Rogers from June 20-23.

"Whether they work in retail, hospitals or other practices, many Arkansas pharmacists like to give back to their communities and professional associations," said APA Executive Vice President Mark Riley. "Our award winners have made extraordinary contributions to the pharmacy profession, to their towns, businesses and to others through mission work or public service. We're proud to honor them all."

APA 2012 Award recipients include:

2012 Pharmacist of the Year: Charles Born, Pharm.D., former professor at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) College of Pharmacy, was recognized for his distinguished teaching career.

2012 Young Pharmacist of the Year: Clint Recktenwald, Pharm.D., pharmacist and owner of Genuine Care Pharmacy in Gassville, was honored for his innovative business practices at an independent pharmacy.

2012 Bowl of Hygeia Award: Sparky Hedden, P.D., owner and manager of McCoy-Tygart Drug since 1984, won the award for his extensive and long-time service to the community of Sheridan.

2012 Innovative Pharmacy Practice Award: Melissa Brown, Pharm.D., clinical services and education coordinator at Medical Arts Pharmacy in Fayetteville, was honored for her work as a diabetes educator and for providing education support for patients.

2012 Charles M. West Leadership Award: Ms. Natalie McDowell, a fourth-year student at the UAMS College of Pharmacy, received a scholarship to support her leadership skills and contributions to the profession of pharmacy.

2012 Cardinal Health Generation RX Champion Award: Dennis Moore, Pharm.D., director of the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) North Central Area Health Education Center (AHEC) in Batesville, was named winner of this award honoring a pharmacist who helps to raise awareness of prescription drug abuse.

The Arkansas Pharmacists Association, founded in 1882, is the statewide professional association representing approximately 2,200 pharmacists in Arkansas. APA strives to further the professional advancement of pharmacists, advocate the value of pharmacy, and safeguard the health and well-being of every Arkansan. Its

mission is to advance a professional and business environment for Arkansas pharmacists to be successful and fulfilled in serving patients.

###

417 South Victory Street, Little Rock, Arkansas 72201-2923 Phone: 501-372-5250, Fax: 501-372-0546

www.arrx.org